February 2019

EDUCATED by Tara Westover

This book spoke to me on a number of levels. I grew up in the mountains, well away from the nearest town, and understand the joy and pain of isolation. But… that’s where our similarities end. This is a fascinating look at the lengths some people have to go to in order to become educated. Beautifully written, Tara Westover has a lovely command of language. Heartbreaking, inspiring, and frighteningly real. 

THE WICKED KING by Holly Black

This story is wonderful, tricky, intense, and without one lagging moment. It’s a superb second book in the series. I can’t wait for next September for the third book!

If you haven’t read it yet, start with THE CRUEL PRINCE and thank me later.

INHERITANCE by Dani Shapiro

This was not the easiest book for me to read, if only for the amount of time spent on the aspects of infertility, but the spirit of it was so beautiful and pure. That Dani was able to write about her experiences at this moment in time, when DNA and ancestry databases are helping to solve crimes and helping families find their truths, it’s true serendipity. I think it will help a lot of people who are searching for their own identities. A must-read.

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

A solid entry in the domestic suspense genre. The structure is excellent, as is the use of second person POV, which is a very difficult thing. The ending will have you talking!

THE STRANGER INSIDE by Laura Benedict

What if you came home to find a stranger living inside your house? An outstanding, ever-twisting, surprise-filled" psychological drama (Publishers Weekly, starred review), in the tradition of Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty, from an Edgar- and Thriller Award-nominated author. 

Can you imagine the nightmare of a stranger taking over your house? The terror you would feel? Benedict turns her unique voice in suspense to this elegant scary mystery, where nothing is as it seems and one woman's truth is shattered by the hidden secrets of her past.

I WAS ANASTASIA by Ariel Lawhon

This amazing historical suspense is now available in paperback!

ONCE A LIAR by A.F. Brady

In this electrifying psychological thriller, a high-powered sociopath meets his reckoning when he’s accused of the brutal murder of his mistress. Sizzles with sinister madness and incessant tension right to the last page.


January 2019

THE CREATIVE HABIT by Twyla Tharp

I’ve now both read and listened to this beautifully compiled work of art. Twyla Tharp takes an intellectual approach to building habits, with a deep dive into the history of art and its greatest creators. You must read it. Do the exercises. See what comes of your newfound enlightenment. Let your mind dance. You won’t regret it. 


Need more recommendations? Check out my list of 2017 books and 2018 books.